Why You Should Use Signup Confirmation (Double Opt-in)

Signup confirmation, often called "double-optin," is extremely important! Its purpose is to make sure that your subscribers willingly joined your email list. If you don't use double-optin, you're more likely to end up in the spam folder.

Double-optin is enabled by default and is forced if you send with MailPoet's sending service.

3 Reasons to Use Email Confirmation

  1. Avoid fake emails entered by evil robots
  2. Filter out mistyped and misspelled emails
  3. Get subscribers that actually open your emails

This last point is important. You should think about your audience in terms of quantity over quality. The aim is to increase your open rate, not simply increase your subscriber count.

Convinced that signup confirmation is important? Read on.

When Double-Optin is Enabled, Unconfirmed Subscribers Won't Receive Any Emails

Until a subscriber confirms his/her subscription, he/she won't receive any emails.

Over 25% of My Subscribers Are Unconfirmed!

Don't sweat it. It's normal to have plenty of unconfirmed subscribers.

If your mailing list is for an older generation of people or for a group of of non-computer users, there's a good chance that your unconfirmed rate will be 30% or more. This is normal.

Tip: Make sure your confirmation email's subject is a call-to-action. Read our guide to writing a great subject line.

  • A good example: Almost there... activate your subscription! 
  • A bad example: We've registered your subscription, thank you.

How Do I Resend the Confirmation Email?

On the Subscribers page, select the subscribers that are Unsubscribed, click on the Bulk Actions dropdown menu, select the option Resend confirmation email and hit the Apply button.

Changing the Content of the Confirmation Email

You can change the behavior of the confirmation email on the  Signup Confirmation tab on the Settings page of the MailPoet plugin:

Disabling the Confirmation Email

There are a few reasons for disabling the confirmation email:

  • Your audience may be unfamiliar with computers and email technology
  • Your audience may not be online on a regular basis. When they get online, your confirmation email is lost in their inbox.
  • Even worse, your confirmation emails are labeled as spam and never show up in the inbox.
  • Your site is a membership site and you only send to your WordPress users.

All unconfirmed subscribers become "subscribed" when you turn off the confirmation email feature. If you re-enable signup confirmation, they'll become unconfirmed (not unsubscribed) again.